top of page

Covering nearly 120,000 square kilometres and stretching from the Alberta border to the BC Mainland coastline, the diocese of Kamloops is rich with cultural and geographical diversity.  The diocese was established on December 22, 1945 and there are forty churches on First Nations lands to ensure that the Church is available to serve and minister to the Dekelh (Carrier), Tsilhqot'in (Chilcotin), Secwepemc (Shuswap), T'it'q'et &  St'at'imc (Lillooet & Fountain), Nlaka'pamux (Thompson), and the Okanagan nations.

Our diocese stretches as far north as Quesnel and Valemount, east to Sicamous and Lumby,  west to Whistler, and south to Merritt and Coldwater.  Our northeast corner touches the Alberta border and our southwest corner reaches the Jervis Inlet (from the Strait of Georgia).

Our diverse geography includes rainforests, deserts, highland plateaus, lake country, and the Rocky Mountains.

bottom of page